Support Us Button Widget

Learn how to garden at the library’s new event series

The beet grows on.

LOUtoday_garden

Now’s the perfect thyme to start planning your garden.

Photo by LOUtoday

Life’s a garden, dig it. The Louisville Free Public Library’s (LFPL) new year-long gardening program, A Year in Your Garden, is ready to help Louisvillians get growing with the Jefferson County Master Gardener Association.

From plotting a garden bed to using milk jugs to start seeds in the winter, the new series is offering six different classes across 10+ LFPL branches — and we promise, they’re not borophyll. They’re totally radish.

Check out these upcoming classes through April:

Plan your vegetable garden

Take pencil to graph paper and plot your fall-harvest garden. Don’t forget to bring a list of your favorite veggies + dimensions of your growing area to be reviewed by experts.

  • Tuesday, Jan. 23, 6 p.m. | Bon Air
  • Wednesday, Feb. 7, 6 p.m. | Main Library

Milk jug germination

Bring one or two empty (and clean) gallon milk jugs, a utility knife, and a roll of duct tape to this hands-on class that will teach you an outdoor form of seeding starting.

  • Saturday, Jan. 20, 2 p.m. | St. Matthews
  • Saturday, Jan. 27, 2 p.m. | South Central Regional
  • Saturday, Feb. 10, 2 p.m. | Jeffersontown
  • Wednesday, Feb. 21, 6 p.m. | Crescent Hill
  • Monday, Feb. 26, 6 p.m. | Shawnee

Starting tomatoes, peppers, and annual flowers

Tomato, tomahto — let’s call the whole thing on. Master gardeners will show you how to get these plants growing in seed trays before the planting season using starting mix, heat mats, and grow lights.

  • Saturday, Feb. 17, 10:30 a.m. | Western
  • Saturday, Feb. 24, 2 p.m. | Southwest Regional
  • Wednesday, Feb. 28, 6 p.m. | Newburg

Selecting native plants for your flower garden

Invite insects and pollinators into your yard with native plants, like purple coneflowers and spotted geraniums. Both have purple blooms by the way, if you’re looking to create a LOUtoday-themed flower bed.

  • Saturday, March 9, 2 p.m. | St. Matthews
  • Saturday, March 16, 10:30 a.m. | Western
  • Saturday, March 30, 2 p.m. | South Central Regional
  • Thursday, April 11, 6 p.m. | Crescent Hill
  • Saturday, April 20, 2 p.m. | Jeffersontown

Best practices for compost building

From bins to boxes, you’ll get an overview of compost systems and decide which one is right for you + learn what to add to the pile and what to leave out.

  • Wednesday, March 13, 6 p.m. | Iroquois
  • Saturday, March 23, 2 p.m. | Jeffersontown
  • Thursday, March 28, 6 p.m. | Main Library
  • Wednesday, April 17, 6 p.m. | Newburg

Direct seed sowing for Spring

Find out what veggie seeds can be planted directly into the soil after the last spring frost, which is typically around the first week of May. Bonus: Bring extra seeds to swap with other gardeners.

  • Tuesday, March 19, 6 p.m. | Northeast Regional
  • Wednesday, March 27, 6 p.m. | Bon Air
  • Monday, April 8, 6:30 p.m. | Fairdale
  • Monday, April 15, 6 p.m. | Shawnee
  • Saturday, April 27, 2 p.m. | Southwest Regional

Dig up more resources + events

We’re rooting for your new spring garden, but if you want a little extra help, here’s some additional resources to get you growing.

More from LOUtoday
The Bikeway Implementation Plan hopes to make Louisville a “low stress” place for cyclists.
Waterfront Park now spans 85 acres, but it wasn’t always green space and walking trails.
We’ve got details and a map full of drink deals: We’ll be highlighting the vibrant beverage scene across Louisville, KY from July 22 to July 26, 2024.
The 7,000-sqft home is over 130 years old and has seven fire places and historic design elements with modern appliances and conveniences.
Don’t flip over these LOU burger deals
Hot dog, hot dog, hot diggity dog.
If it goes in the air, you need special permission.
The Speed Art Museum’s latest exhibit highlights a pioneering Louisville artist’s 40+ year career.
A new LOU spot for coffee, breakfast, and drinks.