Meet Kentucky’s elected officials

Photo by @launchlouisville

Have a burning question or suggestion for Kentucky’s legislators? Café LOUIE is here to give your voice a mic + your thoughts a stage at their monthly meetings with elected officials

Café LOUIE — Louisvillians: Organized, United, Informed & Engaged — is a partnership between the Library Foundation, the Louisville Free Public Library, the Leadership Louisville Center + the Friends of the Library that facilitates community interaction with legislatorsboth state and local.

Each month the meetings are held from 9-10 a.m. at a different LFPL locationsee the 2022 schedule below. Community members can gather, grab a cup of Heine Brothers coffee + ask questions to a cast of rotating officials including Kentucky State Senate members, Kentucky House Representatives, Metro Council Members, and Mayors. A trained facilitator will direct and moderate the discussion.

Meetings are held monthly from 9-10 a.m. | Screenshot from

The next two meetings — Jan. 22 + Jan. 29 — are being held virtually. The Jan. 22 gathering will host House Representative Attica Scott + Metro Councilperson Jecorey Arthur. On Jan. 29, Café LOUIE will also feature House Representative Attica Scott + Councilmembers Nicole George and Donna Purvis. Submit your questions in advance here

With all legislative roles up for re-election in November, here are some fast facts about each. 

Kentucky State Senate

  • Comprised of 38 members elected from single-member districts 
  • Meet in Frankfort annually starting in January — sessions last 60 legislative days in even-numbered years + 30 days in odd-numbered years
  • To be a state senator you have to be at least 30 years old, citizen of Kentucky, and have lived in your representing district at least one year prior to election
  • No term limits 
  • Find your state senator here  

Kentucky House of Representatives

  • Composed of 100 representatives elected from single-member districts 
  • To be a state rep you have to be at least 24 years old, citizen of Kentucky, and have lived in your representing district at least one year prior to election
  • Elected every two years
  • Find your state representative here  

Louisville Metro Council

  • Formally established in 2003 after the merger between the City of Louisville + Jefferson County
  • Consists of 26 seats corresponding to districts throughout Jefferson County 
  • Elected every four years in a staggered process — this year odd-numbered districts are up for reelection 
  • Find your councilperson here